Media Statement by TINDAK! {Amended}

TINDAK! Amended Press Statement, 3.30pm, 15/8/21 MPs must agree on a new PM by 20/8/21

Pelan Bertindak Rakyat (TINDAK!) was formed primarily to advocate more robust, urgent and science-based action to tackle the Covid-19 crisis.

Such action is not possible without robust, legitimate, and principled leadership. With news that Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin is about to resign, we hope that MPs will be able to come to a consensus regarding the next Prime Minister with the greatest of haste.

The best, most constitutionally consistent, and transparent forum to choose the new Prime Minister must be via an open sitting of Parliament.

This will produce continuity in our democratic process, and avoid setting any controversial constitutional precedents.

To ensure that Malaysia is not stuck in and distracted by an unproductive, protracted, and inconclusive political quagmire for an indefinite period of time, we propose that MPs be given a strict deadline of 20/8/21 to choose a new Prime Minister.

To whomsoever forms the Government, we recommend that the following option be considered moving forward.

Media Statement by TINDAK! {Amended}

One such option can include the convening of a Covid-19 Policy Task Force (CPTF) to formulate and implement policies on handling the Covid-19 crisis. This body can be led by public policy experts, especially those in the field of public health, economics, and education. Members of civil society can also be included in the CPTF, alongside elected representatives. The CPTF can be fully responsible for the planning and management of the Covid-19 pandemic.

We hope that the safety and well being of the rakyat will always be the top consideration as the country navigates the upcoming political transitions.

Jawatankuasa TINDAK!

Badlishah Sham - Pertubuhan IKRAM Malaysia / Gabungan Bertindak Malaysia (GBM) Faisal Aziz - Angkatan Belia Islam Malaysia (ABIM) Nathaniel Tan - Projek #BangsaMalaysia Stanley Yong - Gabungan Bertindak Malaysia (GBM) Grazele Jenarun - Projek Wawasan Rakyat (POWR) S. Arutchelvan - Jaringan Rakyat Terindas (JERIT) / Jawatankuasa Marhain Altaf Deviyati - Projek Wawasan Rakyat (POWR) Mukmin Nantang - Borneo Komrad Farhan Rosli - Persatuan Kebangsaan Pelajar Islam Malaysia (PKPIM)